Indiana, between North and South A, and 3rd to 10th Streets.
For a printed copy of
brochure, please contact:
brochure produced by Center City Development Corporation.
Morrisson-Reeves Library Staff:
was made possible by a grant from the Richmond Urban Enterprise
EDC of Wayne Co.
First Bank Richmond
...and all our
Official Web Site:
Email WayNet's Director
Discover Wayne County |
Find It Fast |
Knowledge Center |
Things To Do |
Find a Member
Historic Architecture Downtown Richmond:
A Walking Tour
901 East Main Street
This three story building is another example of downtown Richmond’s
outstanding collection of stone-fronted commercial buildings, most of
which were designed by John A. Hasecoster. In 1880, it was occupied by
John E. Pelz’s tailor shop. By 1900, it was a drug store, which was
eventually supplanted by Readmore Books. The upper floors were designed
as sleeping rooms for young, working men. In 1990, the first floor store
front (dating form the 1950s) was replaced with design guidance from
Richmond’s Center City Development. The building at the rear was
originally occupied by the Meerhoff Metal Implement and Building Supply
This is the web-based incarnation of a brochure originally published in
2010. While the history is still
very valuable, other information may no longer be accurate.
Information updated by WayNet will be listed in this maroon color.
**COPYRIGHT NOTICE** for
Walking Tour Information: Published in March 2010
In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, any copyrighted work in this
article is distributed under fair use without profit or payment to those who
have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for
non-profit research and educational or criticism purposes only.