Indiana, between North and South A, and 3rd to 10th Streets.
For a printed copy of
brochure, please contact:
brochure produced by Center City Development Corporation.
Morrisson-Reeves Library Staff:
was made possible by a grant from the Richmond Urban Enterprise
EDC of Wayne Co.
First Bank Richmond
...and all our
Official Web Site:
Email WayNet's Director
Discover Wayne County |
Find It Fast |
Knowledge Center |
Things To Do |
Find a Member
Historic Architecture Downtown Richmond:
A Walking Tour
Karate Shop, Nolands Nook,
Julian's, The Boston Store,
819, 821 East Main Street
This structure was built by H.C. Hasemeier Co., a clothing and dry
goods manufacturer. From 1888 until 1933, it was The Boston Store,
carrying fine goods from the east coast. In 1933, the building was
purchased by the Vigran family as Julian’s, a women’s clothing store.
The second floor façade was covered with fiberglass panels during the
1960s in an effort to give a more "modern" appearance. In 1990, Center
City Development assisted the owner in removing the fiberglass panels to
reveal the historic façade visible today.
This is the web-based incarnation of a brochure originally published in
2010. While the history is still
very valuable, other information may no longer be accurate.
Information updated by WayNet will be listed in this maroon color.
**COPYRIGHT NOTICE** for
Walking Tour Information: Published in March 2010
In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, any copyrighted work in this
article is distributed under fair use without profit or payment to those who
have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for
non-profit research and educational or criticism purposes only.