Hagerstown, Indiana

Zip Code: 47346
Population: 1,728

Hagerstown, Indiana is located in Jefferson Township in the northwestern quadrant of Wayne County. Children in this community attend Nettle Creek Schools..

A quintessential small town, Hagerstown residents have much to brag on. Historical tidbits like it being the hometown of Ralph Teetor, inventor of cruise control, or the fact that it was the northern terminus of the Whitewater Canal are documented in the local museum.

Visitors will also enjoy discovering soft, buttery caramels and hand-dipped chocolates from Abbott's Candy, in business in Hagerstown since 1890 or playing with the gyroscopes produced locally by Tedco Toys and shipped all over the world.

Hagerstown hosts an array of festivals each year, including Jubilee Days in August and a Vintage Fly-In at the Hagerstown Airport where pilots enjoy showing off their vintage airplanes on the largest grass strip runway in the nation in July.



Government Services

For Emergencies: Call 9-1-1

Service Phone Number Hours
Fire Department 765.489.4711 DIAL 9-1-1
Municipal Building, 49 E. College Street 765.489.6171  
Hagerstown-Jefferson Township Public Library
10 West College Street
Town Marshal: Keith Folkner 765.489.4711 DIAL 9-1-1
Town Manager: Bob Warner 765.489.6171  
Clerk/Treasurer: Nick Jarrett 765.489.6171  
Building Commissioner: Bob Bullock 765.489.6171  
Fire Chief: Rick Cole 765.489.4711  
Town Judge: Susan Bell 765.489.6171  
Water & Sanitary Sewer:
The Town of Hagerstown manages the electric, water, and sewer utilities as well as the street department and the cemetery.

Elected Officials

Elected Official Phone
Brian Longbons  
Rick Cole  
Rebecca L. Diercks  
Fredrick (Fred) L. Dill  
Clint Hardin  


Japanese-Style Pagoda Picnic Shelter 2009 Hagerstown Flying Circus The Hagerstown Museum and Arts Place

View more images of Hagerstown, Indiana.

Map of Hagerstown, Indiana

View Larger Map


WayNet is Sponsored by:
We R Richmond - Richmond Community Schools
Morrisson-Reeves Library
Reid Health

Community Photo

More Photos:
Wayne County | WayNet Albums

Did You Know?

Wayne County, Indiana is home to three universities. Indiana University East, Earlham College, and Ivy Tech Community College as well as two seminaries, Earlham School of Religion [Quaker] and Bethany Theological Seminary [Church of the Brethren].