Home | Directory | News | Discover Wayne County | Find It Fast | Knowledge Center | Things To Do | Find a Member

Waynet Annual Meeting
September 25, 2001
Bard Room, Morrisson-Reeves Library
7:00 - 8:30 p.m.


Bill Felker, president called the meeting to order at 7:05 and introduced the members of the Executive Board who were present:

Bill O'Hara Felker, President
Rodger Smith, Vice-President
Thomas G. Kirk, Jr., Secretary
Pam Frantz
Chris Hardie
Amy Spears
Larry Turner
John Weber
Nancy Wilson
Jane Holman, Executive Director, Ex Officio

President Felker reviewed the year's developments citing the increase in membership and development of the web site.

He pointed to the Treasurer's report which is available on the WayNet web site at:

Jane Holman, Executive Director of WayNet, gave her annual report. She provided quantitative detail on the growth of Waynet by citing the number of members (information available at

Jane pointed out that WayNet's operation is dependent entirely on membership fees and WayNet received no tax dollars from national, state or local government and received no grants during 2000. WayNet thanks its membership for their contributions.

She also reported on the continued geometric growth in the use of WayNet. Use of WayNet was up 110% in 2000 over 1999. Use in the second quarter of 2001 (the last completed quarter) was up 41% over the second quarter of 2000. Use in August 2001 is up 92% over August 2000.

Jane pointed to the benefits of membership citing those listed in the WayNet brochure. She also talked about other less tangible, but nevertheless real benefits of membership. WayNet is an excellent vehicle for giving an organization exposure to site visitors. WayNet provides a community calendar, the ability for members to post news releases unedited directly to the public, and provides a mechanism for members to advertise employment opportunities.

Bill Felker announced the nominations for the Executive Board presented by the Nominating Committee chaired by Pam Frantz. The Nominations and term of service are:

  • Rodger Smith, Richmond Community Schools, 2001-2003
  • Thomas G. Kirk, Jr., Earlham College, 2001-2003
  • Randy Baker, Richmond Power & Light, 2001-2003
  • Pam Frantz, Lingle Real Estate, 2001-2003
  • E. Thomas Kemp, Law Office of E. Thomas Kemp, 2001-2003
  • Jim Buckler, Richmond Workforce Development Center, 2001-2003

A motion by Rodger Smith, seconded by Larry Turner, to close the nominations was passed by voice vote. A motion by Amy Spears, seconded by Rodger Smith to accept the nominations was passed by voice vote.

Bill Felker announced the slate of officers proposed by the Nominating Committee:

  • Chris Hardie, Summersault, President
  • Bill Felker, KICKS96, Vice-President/Treasurer
  • Tom Kirk, Earlham College, Secretary.

A motion by Nancy Wilson, seconded by John Weber to approve the nominations was passed by voice vote.

Bill invited all to attend Executive Board meetings that are held the 2nd Tuesday of each month at Richmond Power & Light. Lunch is at 11:30 and the meeting begins at 12:00.

Bill Felker then presented the web design awards. There were two types of awards, the "People's Choice Awards" and the Executive Board Awards. In the four categories the following were award winners:

Award Category People's Choice Awards Executive Board "Best Local Web Site" Awards
Not-for-Profit Big Brothers and Big Sisters of Wayne & Union Counties Hayes Regional Arboretum
Business Adams & Agee Greens Fork Animal Hospital
Government/Education Morrisson-Reeves Library Centerville-Abington Community School
Personal  Living-Dead.com Seasons of Life

Bill Felker adjourned the formal business meeting at 7:45 and introduced a panel of David Osborne, Richmond Power & Light, Renee Oldham, Uptown Richmond, Chris Hardie, Summersault, and Rodger Smith, Richmond Community Schools. This panel discussed and answered questions about their organizations use of technology and the development of Wayne County's information infrastructure. [capsule of current projects]

Recorded by

Tom Kirk

Home Directory Top 20 Sponsors

Questions or Comments?

Copyright Š 1997-2018 Waynet, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Spanish: Traducir este Web site al espaņol.  Japanese: 日本語にこのウェブサイトを翻訳しなさい。  Russian: Перевести этот сайт на русском.  German: Diese Web site zum Deutschen übersetzen.