Home | Directory | News | Discover Wayne County | Find It Fast | Knowledge Center | Things To Do | Find a Member
known as North West Seventh Street Park, Mary Scott Park became the
first park located on the west side of Richmond. The history of the
park started with the land being originally owned by the Peacock
Family. The Peacock Farm extended from North west Fifth Street west
to approximately North West Thirteenth Street on the north side of
Main Street. The Farm was later broken up as Richmond began to
expand west. The area was being developed as the Beeson &
Sedgwick Addition. Within the area was a beautiful forest known by
the citizens of the area as Middleton’s Woods.
To prevent the woods from being torn down for housing purposes, the citizens of the area pushed the city to purchase the woods and establish it as a park. The city was reluctant to spend the money for another park, but the citizens of the area persuaded City Council that there was a need for a park on the west side. In March of 1911, the city appropriated $3,000 for the purchase of the 4 acre wooded area.
One of the park’s most interesting attractions is the Burgess log cabin. The cabin was originally built by Samuel Burgess in the 1820’s on Abington Pike and is one of the oldest cabins in the area. In 1945 George Scantland decided to auction off the old pioneer’s cabin. Robert E. Graham, a west side businessman, organized other area businessmen to purchase the cabin as a memorial to the area pioneers. Graham was successful in his bid for the log cabin. The cabin was then donated to the city and accepted by the Common Council. It was agreed that the cabin should be placed as close as possible to the original site. The North West Seventh Street Park was chosen as the ideal site.
It took the city a year to move the Burgess log cabin. It was necessary to modify the cabin from its original two-story structure to a single-story cabin for transportation reasons. The timbers removed from the top were used to build the front porch that now exists on the cabin. In 1959 the Parks department added a large room to the back of the cabin. The new room added a modern kitchen, restrooms and space for small meetings.
Through the years Mary Scott took over supervision of the park. The park became a hub of activity, as children attended the many craft lessons taught by Mary Scott at the park. Many people today still fondly remember going to the park to see Mrs. Scott. Since the park was being frequently used, the parks department added playground equipment, a baseball diamond, volleyball court, two picnic shelters and shuffle board court. The Lions Club has also donated a wading pool for the children.
The park has expanded to include 7 acres for public use. It serves the area near Dennis Middle School and the former Parkview Elementary School.
playground equipment at Mary Scott Park features a
unique "roller" slide, unlike any other in
|Information courtesy of the Richmond Parks and Recreation Department.|
Copyright © 1997-2012 Waynet, Inc. All Rights Reserved.